Main content
Home - News

Recent News

Share this
January 10, 2022

Amy Kovach and Jason Taylor Appointed as New Deans

Amy Kovach and Jason Taylor

Roberts Wesleyan College recently appointed two new deans to its leadership team: In July 2021, Amy Kovach was named dean of the School of Education and Social Work, and Jason Taylor assumed his role as dean of the School of Natural and Social Sciences on January 1, 2022.

“We’re thrilled to elevate both Amy and Jason to the position of dean in recognition of their exemplary contributions to the college,” said David Basinger, chief academic officer at Roberts Wesleyan College. “Amy's innovative and collaborative work has led to new programs, partnerships and educational offerings here at Roberts, and Jason has valuable experience leading the Department of Biological and Chemical Sciences, as well our summer camp programs. We look forward to seeing the impact of their continued vision and leadership within the Roberts academic community.”

In her 13-year tenure at Roberts Wesleyan, Kovach has served as a professor of chemistry, the founding director of academic summer programs, and director of special projects for the chief academic officer. In addition to dean, she will continue to serve as the program development coordinator and honors program director, overseeing the Global Honors Program and the Academic Research and Leadership Honors Program. Kovach graduated from Roberts Wesleyan College with a Bachelor of Science in chemistry and minors in physics and mathematics. She then went on to earn her M.S. and Ph.D. in chemistry at the University of Rochester.

Taylor joined the Roberts Wesleyan faculty in 2003 and has filled a variety of roles within the college and Department of Biological and Chemical Sciences. In addition to his role as professor of chemistry and first-year seminar instructor, Taylor serves as chair of the department and oversees the academic summer program, roles he will continue to fill. He assumes the role of dean from Julie Grimm, who served as dean of the School of Natural and Social Sciences upon its formation in 2015 until her retirement in 2021. Taylor received his Bachelor of Science in chemistry from Baldwin-Wallace University and earned his M.S. and Ph.D. in bioanalytical chemistry from Indiana University.

For more news articles, you can take a look at our archive.