The department currently offers eight different scholarships listed below. Contact the department chair or the financial aid office for further information.

Smith Scholar Program

The Department of Biological and Chemical Sciences and the Department of Computer Science, Mathematics, and Physics sponsors Merlin G. Smith Science-Mathematics Teaching Assistantships to three entering students each year. Students selected for this program are designated as Smith Scholars. Selection will be based on high school record, SAT or ACT scores, and an interview with faculty from the Division. Awards will be independent of and in addition to any other financial aid . Dr. Merlin G. Smith, a mathematician and astronomer, was President of Roberts Wesleyan from 1933-1957.

Ogden Family Physics Scholarship

This scholarship is established in honor of Professor Philip M. Ogden, Ph.D. who chaired the Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics from 1974-1998. Preference shall be given to physics and engineering students in their sophomore, junior or senior year who are in good academic standing, with special consideration for those who also work within the Department of Computer Science, Mathematics, and Physics.

The Donald D. Kerlee Engineering Award

Preference shall be given to physics and engineering students who have fulfilled the Roberts Wesleyan University Cooperative Program requirements, and are now matriculating or are matriculated at Clarkson University, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Rochester Institute of Technology, or other participating cooperative Engineering Program schools in existence at the time.

Edgar A. Rose Mathematics Scholarship

was established in commemoration of Edgar and Miriam Rose’s 50th Wedding Anniversary. This scholarship is awarded to a Mathematics Major each year.

Barbara J. Rose Science and Mathematics Scholarship

was established in honor of Barbara J. Rose in celebration of her 40 years of service to Roberts Wesleyan University. This scholarship will annually provide a generous award to a student pursuing a major in science or mathematics. The student can be renewed for this scholarship annually, provided the student maintains the minimum grade point average specified for academic scholarships, and whose character remains consistent with the goals of Roberts Wesleyan University.

A. Walter Kaufmann Mathematics Scholarship

Awards shall be made to a junior or senior student majoring in mathematics. Preference is given to students planning a graduate degree and college-level teaching in mathematics or mathematics and computer science. Applicants must be recommended by the Department of Computer Science, Mathematics, and Physics.

Alfred E. Morton Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship will be awarded to a junior or senior majoring in Computer Science or Business with preference given to students from Pearce Memorial Free Methodist Church.

Main content