{CAMPUS TODAY} at Roberts

Faculty & Staff Awards

Several awards are presented to Roberts Wesleyan College faculty and staff members each year for outstanding performance during the academic year. The following awards were presented during this year’s Faculty Celebration Luncheon.

Page13-1 The Mary Eleanor “Mel” Anderson Outstanding Service Staff Award was presented to Patti M. Radel, Assistant to the President, as she exudes the true spirit of the College and Seminary on a daily basis, consistently going the extra mile for students and colleagues while being exemplary in her work performance and actively serving in her church and community.


The Darlene E. McCown Faculty Service Award, presented annually to a faculty member who shows outstanding service and extraordinary care to others, was awarded to Dr. Jason R. Taylor, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Chair of the Department of Biological and Chemical Sciences. Page13-2


Page13-3 The Donald Mohnkern Academic Advisement Award, presented annually to a faculty member in recognition of excellence in the academic advisement of students, was awarded to Dr. Emily R. Smithers, Assistant Professor of Biology, Department of Biological and Chemical Sciences.


Page13-4   Page13-5   Page13-6
Dr. Rodney L. Bassett   Ronald W. Hallman   Dr. Hiie Silmere

The Barbara S. Muller Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence, presented annually to two faculty members from the School of Liberal Arts and Sciences and two faculty members from the School of Professional Studies in recognition of effective teaching, was awarded to Dr. Rodney L. Bassett, Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychology, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Ronald W. Hallman, Associate Professor of Criminal Justice and Chair of the Department of Criminal Justice, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Dr. Judith V. Treschuk, Professor of Nursing, Department of Nursing, School of Professional Studies; and Dr. Hiie Silmere, Assistant Professor of Social Work, Department of Social Work, School of Professional Studies.


Page13-7 The Faculty Professional Activity Award, presented annually to a faculty member in recognition of outstanding professional accomplishments within her/his area of training or expertise and apart from normal classroom activity, committee and campus obligations, was awarded to Dr. Michael Landrum, Professor of Music and Film Studies, Department of Music and Performing Arts.


Page13-8   Page13-9
Sara J. Manning   Dr. David M. Skiff

The Ruth McIntyre Sittig and William K. Sittig Faculty Growth Award, an endowment established to recognize current and future significant research and professional activity for faculty in their pursuit of excellence, was awarded to Sara J. Manning, Assistant Professor of Nursing and Coordinator of Clinical Laboratory Education, Department of Nursing, and Dr. David M. Skiff, Associate Professor of Social Work, Director, Undergraduate Social Work Program, and Chair, Department of Social Work.


Page13-10 The Staff Towel and Basin Award was given to Marna L. Distaffen for consistently demonstrating steadfast focus on serving others in a spirit of humility, unity and caring, and faithfulness to God, RWC and NES, through her duties as Director of Advancement Services. Her job knowledge and deep commitment to the mission of RWC and NES is evidenced daily.